think pink, etc.

pink peonies

I guess it’s a sign of growing up that I’m coming back around to things I once rejected out of hand, or something like that. One of those things is the color pink. I haven’t been a big fan of pink on its own in a long while. I read it as garish, simultaneously bodily and plasticine. But I’m reevaluating it, and while my favorite color will ever be orange, pink is making a comeback.

And now for something completely different: I’d be remiss if I didn’t include a song by Pink Martini, that jazzy band from Portland with the great album covers. However, their youtube page is s-l-a-c-k-i-n-g, and this is the best video I could find. Most of their other songs are better than this one, but this video’s set in Italy mostly. Then again, I’d also be remiss if I didn’t include Ariel Pink, whose vibes I’m especially digging on:

The weird home-video qualities of this vid remind me of Beck, which I’m okay with, and somehow it also reminds me of “Future’s So Bright, I Gotta Wear Shades.” Back to the show.

I’d go so far as to say that I see a renaissance of a feminine aesthetic, modern and a little brutal, and pink has all the dynamism and vibrancy to spearhead the movement. First, a small collection of pinked images, culled from voyages across the interwebs. Second, an investigation of some artists whose vibes are vibing with mine these days. Let’s get to it:

Printed pencils? Sign me up twice. My latin teacher in high school had them made for her classes every year around exam time. My favorites said ERRARE EST HUMANEM, to err is human, but either Magistra McQuaid intentionally had them done this way as a latin joke- the best and nerdiest kind- or it was perfectly, ironically true. The correct translation of “to err is human” is “err are est humanum.”

Pretty pink polly want a cracker?

Though I usually try to avoid inane-Tumblr-photoblog-ness, I like all the vibes going on here. When my hair starts going grey, it’s also going to start going pastel I think. Pink and purple pastels seems to carry that undertone in hair, and artfully pink hair? I’m into it. There are also so many pink accessories I’m not even going to get into it. But the look is  goooooood.

In case you were wondering. This image is part of Benefit’s advertising campaign. The cosmetics company is actually owned by Louis Vuitton.

The Princess of all Princesses, Grace Kelly playing photographer at a swimming competition at Palm Beach, Monte Carlo in 1972.

An image ripped straight from Pinterest. This is, according to the inter webs, a textile designed by Leah Bartholomew and Beci Orpin. I’m having a bit of trouble finding their site, as I’d love to have this print, but alas. Everything online is simultaneously accessible and buried.

Though obliquely related, here’s a thing:

J Dilla. RIP. 

Here’s a place that looks amazing. Senegal’s Lake Retba, or as the French refer to it Lac Rose, is pinker than any milkshake. Experts say the lake gives off its pink hue due to cyanobacteria, a harmless halophilic bacteria found in the water. Lake Retba has a high salt content, much like that of the Dead Sea, allowing people to float effortlessly in the massive pink water. I hope it’s real, because I really want to go there.

Though I’m pretty sure this isn’t real, she’s still beautiful and perfect and melancholy in all the best ways. Here’s to the girl/woman of all years.

.

As promised, below are a few artists doing daring and beautiful things featuring pink:

Melancholie, Sarah Illenberger

Sarah Illenberger, a beautiful, cool German artist, does fantastic things with food. Though not all of her work features edibles, the ones that do are particularly appealing.

This pop-up paper cut installation of hers, titled Ambpur, is really strange and beautiful.

.

The fantastic Mr. Gray Malin‘s work often has a faintly pink feel, though it’s not overtly feminine or brutal. I think that the “pinkness” is more an element of the manmade/natural boundary he works with. His aerial photographs of the worlds beaches are graphic, eye-catching, quirky and oh-so-sunny in an almost apocalyptic way. Maybe that’s just me. Images of people from really high in the air always seems to be accompanied by catastrophe in the movies.

Sagaponack Main Beach, Bridge Hampton

Lisbon, Portugal

.

50-year-old Korean artist Do-Ho Suh is one of my all-time favorites. I was fortunate enough to see his phenomenal Floor, at the Ackland Art Museum a few years ago. His work is always intricate, always astonishing, always requires an active interaction between piece and viewer. I’m a sucker for installation art, and his is usually pristine. Here’s a fascinating clip from PBS’ fantastic series Art21, featuring him.

This piece of his, 2007’s Cause and Effect, is a huge installation of acrylic and stainless steel:

.

Here’s one via the anonymous depths of Tumblr. If you know from whence it came, holler:

.

signing off, combining my favorite, orange, with a great version of pink:

laissez les bon temps rouler,

the girl

got something to say?

